Close Menu
Home / Blog / Car Accidents / What Car Accident Passengers Should Know About Their Rights in Fort Pierce

What Car Accident Passengers Should Know About Their Rights in Fort Pierce


Many times, when people think about car accidents, they only think about the drivers involved and how it affects them. But what about the passengers? The impact a car accident can have on a passenger is just as important. Each day, passengers are suffering from personal injuries due to a car accident in Fort Pierce’s roads and highways. Did you know that passengers have rights in car accidents too? If you’re a passenger who was involved in a car accident, here is some information you should know.

Passenger Right to Seek Compensation

Regardless of whether the driver you were riding with caused the accident or not, your rights as a passenger remain the same. You have the right to seek compensation for your injuries. You may be able to pursue an insurance claim against the party or parties at fault. This is something an experienced personal injury attorney can help you with since the situation can quickly become complicated.

How Insurance Affects Passengers

All drivers in Florida must carry a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage. The PIP law was enacted in 2013 and allows for people to receive medical benefits if they’re involved in an accident, even if they are at fault.

Passengers may be able to recover compensation for medical bills using their own PIP insurance. But if you do not have PIP insurance, you may be covered by the PIP insurance of:

  • The owner of the vehicle you were riding in
  • The at fault driver
  • A related member of your household (for example, a mother’s PIP insurance may cover a child who was a passenger and received injuries in a car accident

Passengers Must Seek Medical Treatment Within 14 Days of the Accident

After an accident, it’s important for passengers to see a medical professional to get a diagnosis and start any necessary treatment as soon as possible.

According to Florida Statute 627.736(a), a passenger must seek medical attention within 14 days. If not, the insurance company is not required to provide reimbursement for the passenger’s injuries.

What to Do After a Car Accident?

Passengers suffering from injuries received in a car accident should take 3 primary steps:

  • Document the car accident. Take pictures and make a note of any observations. Ask yourself these questions:
    • What is the weather like?
    • What’s the condition of the road?
    • Who was at the scene?

Be sure to get the name(s) and contact information of any witnesses and get the insurance information of all drivers.

  • See a Medical Professional within 14 days. See a medical provider immediately. Doing so will make your life so much easier in the long run.


  • Hire a Car Accident Attorney. After you’ve consulted a medical professional to determine the level of injuries, you should hire a personal injury attorney specializing in car accidents.

The attorney will proceed to negotiate with the insurance company. Some people are under the impression that the insurance company acts in their best interest because they’re a policyholder. The insurance company is a business, who employs adjusters to act in its own best interest to keep from paying more money.

Were You a Passenger in a Car Accident in Fort Pierce? Call Sholtes Law, Fort Pierce Personal Injury Attorney

If you’re the passenger involved in a car accident and seeking financial compensation for your injuries, contact Sholtes Law, PLLC. Andrew Sholtes is a knowledgeable Fort Pierce car accident lawyer serving St. Lucie & Martin County with professional and personalized representation for accident victims. Call 855-534-2509 for a free case analysis.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Phone: 855-534-2509 / Fax: 754-220-9939
309 Orange Avenue Fort Pierce, FL 34950
55 SE Osceola St Suite 204, Stuart, FL 34994
1120 S Parrott Ave, Okeechobee, FL 34974

© 2019 - 2024 Sholtes Law, PLLC. All rights reserved.